top of page

Pitt Women Spotlight: Audreela Deb


Question 1:

Let’s start off by discussing the main theme of Girl’s Up. What does the word empowerment mean to you?

Audreela:Empowerment means the ability to make anyone feel like they can do anything. It is exuberating confidence. It is letting girls know from a young age that they can play sports, run fast, be strong (both mentally and physically), go into STEM fields, etc. Conversely, it is letting boys know from a young age that it is okay to show emotion, to like the color pink, or to be a nurse if they want to. Once someone becomes empowered, they have the ability of self-determination. It is the feeling of being able to do whatever you put your mind to. The power is in your hands so you can hold the reins to direct your path in life. Ultimately, it is the rewarding part of having control over your own life, and doing what you love to do!

Question 2:

With social media and multiple news outlets, it’s much easier for us to stay connected to the news - both fake and real - nowadays. What is one issue (locally, nationally or globally) that really “speaks” to you?

Audreela: One issue that has always spoken to me was the issue of human trafficking. Since high school, this has been a global issue, unfathomable to me, but unfortunately very real. I do not believe this issue gets as much attention in the media as it should, however, I do believe steps are being taken in the right direction. I have reached out to many nonprofit organizations devoted to this cause, and have gotten the real statistics related to this problem. I think many people don't realize just how many innocent children, women and men are caught in this horror. 1% of people ever get rescued once they are trafficked; one percent. That is it, from the 20-30 million slaves that there are currently in the world. These are shocking numbers, and I urge people to read up on this important issue! There are many ways to be involved and help.

Question 3:

What is one ideal or value that is important to you?

Audreela: One value that is really important to me is compassion – compassion is the fruitful web that helps reinforce our connections to people, society, and the world. It is the contributing force to understanding each other and our differences. I believe many obstacles our society currently faces is due to a lack of this distinct human force. When people really hear one another, see one another, feel one another then problems can solved, issues can be compromised, and feelings can be mutual. I am not saying that compassion is the answer to everything, but it can definitely be a good start to solve conflict.

Question 4:

Speaking from what I have witnessed, you have grown up to become a strong, wise person. However, I am sure there is still something that you know now that you wish you had known when you were younger?

Audreela: When I was younger, I wish I knew when people opinions mattered and when they didn't. Now I know when I should be interested in what other people have to say, but I wasn't always so sure. I remember a lot of the time when I was younger, I would allow people to make comments on my life, even when they didn't really know me well enough to comment. Now, I know who I trust to give me advice when needed. I've also learned to trust my own judgement, and be the driver of my life. I feel like I have been given a solid foundation to do great things – and now I should do them! I shouldn't let people get to me or discourage me or bring me down; I am ultimately the boss of my own life. This moment of realization was the most empowering feeling in the world.

Question 5:

You are pretty involved on campus in different ways, can you generally describe some of your involvements and then write about one particular moment that you are particularly proud/happy about within these involvements.

Audreela: I am involved with a few organizations at Pitt, such as Pitt Nrityamala, Pitt Dhirana, Pitt SASA, Women in Business, and I hope to become part of more organizations as I explore these next two years at Pitt.

Out of these organizations, I would say a lot of my time has gone to Pitt Nrityamala, a classical Indian dance team. We compete on a national level, and go to many different states at other universities for dance competitions. This dance team is very meaningful to me for many reasons. I have learned Indian classical dance for the past 14 years of my life – so a pretty good amount has been devoted to this art! I think it is so important, especially being part of a minority group in America, to hold onto your roots and culture. This dance team has meant a lot to me; as a young girl, having something from your culture to grasp and grow with, and even identify with is extremely integral. It has shaped me in unique ways, and has also helped build my confidence as I've gotten older. As well, my dance team has become my tight-knit family, something that I was thankful for when I was a freshman. This team taught me many things, but the most important I took away from it was discipline. Being able to continue on my passion of dance through college is something I am happy I could do, but I had to learn to balance everything: school, dance, extracurriculars, and my sanity. Thus, no matter how daunting it

seems, I urge everyone to hold onto that passion of theirs, because throughout all the changes of college, it is great to have that one thing to lose yourself in.

Another organization I have been a part of is Pitt Dhirana, a nonprofit organization devoted to the cause of preserving classical Indian dance and also raising money for the Birmingham Free Clinic. Being part of a dance team, it is even cooler to be able to host a competition as well, and get the glimpse of both aspects. Hosting a competition is hard in itself. Hosting a successful competition and donating $14,000 to the Birmingham Free Clinic is a whole other level of difficulty, but it was worth every minute. The best moment I remember is being on stage with all of the dancers, and all of us breathing the same passion for dance, the same work ethic and effort to create and preserve this beautiful art form. I was proud then, to call myself a Bharatanatyam dancer, and also, to say I contributed to a cause that donated a large sum of money to a clinic that provides free health care to people who need it. It was inspiring, and that is the feeling I remember when I need inspiration or motivation in any of my endeavors.

Question 6:

Thank you for being one of my role models. Who is one of your role models who has inspired you?

Audreela: My biggest role model is of course – my mother. This may be a basic answer, however, I believe every mother should be celebrated, and I can only hope to be half the person my mother is to me. She is an amazing woman; she grew up in the devastating time period of a liberation war in Bangladesh. She was not handed things easily in her life, but had to work for it. However, she never once gave up, which inspires me so much. She ventured into America with my father, and they both had to create a life in a new country, all for their future kids. They wanted the "better life", but they definitely had to work hard for it. As a young mom with two kids, she still completed her master's degree in Biotechnology. Somehow, she managed to complete her homework and studies all while feeding me and putting me to sleep, which were definitely not easy tasks! She sacrificed a lot of her career for me and my brother – to raise us and to be at home when we would come back from school. Those little instances have made me thankful for her.

presence in my life, and I would not be the person I am today without her. Now, she is a hardworking woman with a job that she loves and a life that she has created on her own in America. Thank you Ma, I love and respect you very mu

bottom of page