top of page

Pitt Women Spotlight: Emily North


Question 1:

Let’s start off by discussing the main theme of Girl’s Up. What does the word empowerment mean to you?

Emily: The textbook definition of the noun empowerment is a process that fosters power in people for use in their own lives by acting on issues they define as important. For the most part, I would agree with the above statement, however it is missing a key part. Empowerment should not only be a term that affects oneself, but their community and society as well. You truly cannot feel “empowered” without affecting those around you and frequently being affected by others.

Question 2:

With social media and multiple news outlets, it’s much easier for us to stay connected to the news - both fake and real - nowadays. What is one issue (locally, nationally or globally) that really “speaks” to you?

Emily: Aside from the growing issues that come along with the widespread population of social media itself, the of topic of modern terrorism really speaks to me. We are constantly witnessing horrific tragedies that are happening across the world on the daily. Because information is so easily accessible in today’s society and a younger generation is tuned into social media, these acts of violence are being plastered into the minds of today’s children. From the recent attacks at a concert in Manchester, to the killings of students at Ohio University this past year, I someday hope to raise my children without the fear of constant terrorism.

Question 3:

What is one ideal or value that is important to you?

Emily: One value that I find extremely important to my everyday life is the simple act of caring. The ability to care in today’s society is a rare, yet essential quality. I make it a daily goal to be the most considerate, genuine human being I can possibly be. I am the type of person that will always provide a helping hand when a particular individual is struggling or in need. You never truly know the issues a certain person may be going through at the time; a smile and kind gesture can go a long way to turning someone’s day around for the better.

Question 4:

Speaking from what I have witnessed, you have grown up to become a strong, wise person. However, I am sure there is still something that you know now that you wish you had known when you were younger?

Emily: There are several things I wish I would’ve known as a younger version of myself! However, the one thing I truly wish I could’ve informed past Emily was to take risks. Believe it or not, I was a rather shy, reserved child growing up. Throughout elementary and middle school, I was scared to step out of my comfort zone and try new things such as auditioning for the lead in the school play or attempting to complete a back-hand spring during my junior varsity cheerleading days. This truly limited my ability to broadening my spectrum on life as a tween, constraining my friends to the seven girls I did absolutely everything with 24/7, 365. After I moved states in high school, my eyes were opened to the limitless opportunity that was in front of my face the entire time. Now as I am approaching my junior year in college, I can say that I am happy with the decision I made to stay involved as much as possible, for these four years are only here once in your life.

Question 5:

You are pretty involved on campus in different ways, can you generally describe some of your involvements and then write about one particular moment that you are particularly proud/happy about within these involvements.

Emily: Because I am only at the University of Pittsburgh for four short years, I figured I’d get involved as much as I possibly could to expand my knowledge of this incredible place. As a freshman, I decided to participate within student government since I had previously held the position of secretary of my graduating class. After a brief interview, I became the Communications Chair of the Elections Board, creating all of the flyers and marketing tactics for the upcoming election in the Spring semester. In that moment, I found my passion for marketing, switching my major from pre-medicine to marketing and supply chain management. During this semester I also decided to rush, soon becoming a sister of Delta Zeta. Within my sophomore year, I had the ability to serve as a Marketing Intern for Student affairs, continuing my devotion for advertising and PR. This past semester, one of the proudest moments in my college career thus far was becoming the president of my sorority. As a running sophomore, I didn’t expect to actually hold the title of President of Omicron Chapter of Delta Zeta, however my sisters graciously granted me the opportunity. I am beyond blessed to serve the women who have provided me with so much within these past two short years here at the University of Pittsburgh.

Question 6:

Thank you for being one of my role models. Who is one of your role models who has inspired you?

Emily: One of my biggest role models of all time is my mother. For the past twenty years, my mom has served as a Physician Assistant and doubles as an incredible parent. She continuously maintains a positive attitude regardless of the everyday duties of a typical mother with two children. She shows compassion and consideration to all of her patients, as some write to her and bring gifts into the office to show their appreciation. I would be more than lucky to grow up being just half of the woman my mother is.

bottom of page