top of page

Pitt Women Spotlight: Elizabeth Bina


Question 1:

Let’s start off by discussing the main theme of Girl’s Up. What does the word empowerment mean to you?

Elizabeth: When I think of empowerment, I think of bringing a ladder to someone building a roof—to provide the framework, means, and support for another person to be able to reach their goals. Empowered people empower others, meaning that those who are confident in their abilities are able to, in turn, inspire and motivate others. Empowerment can take many different forms, from providing an individual with an encouraging word, to donating to a cause that is near to your heart, to putting your nose to the grindstone in order to improve life for another.

Question 2:

With social media and multiple news outlets, it’s much easier for us to stay connected to the news - both fake and real - nowadays. What is one issue (locally, nationally or globally) that really “speaks” to you?

Elizabeth: Recently, I have been thinking a lot about health, and how behavior impacts ones health. There are many dimensions to health, but one I think about constantly is nutrition. Without access to healthy food, one cannot achieve their full wellness potential, and this issue really hits home as a University of Pittsburgh student. Pittsburgh has its fair share of food deserts, which refer to areas that lack affordable and nutritious food sources, and the Oakland neighborhood is one of them. I have been researching different ways communities have begun to tackle this issue, and although there is not one simple answer, the most successful efforts have prospered because of collaboration between local entities, whether they be non-profits, for-profit corporations, or government programs.

Question 3:

What is one ideal or value that is important to you?

Elizabeth: Generosity is an ideal that really matters to me. Generosity of spirit, of wallet, of time—giving of oneself and of one’s talents can really make a difference on both a small and large level. I think that you do not necessarily have to have a plethora of money to be generous, but we each possess an excess of some sort that we were granted to share with our world, and to recognize that is really essential.

Question 4:

Speaking from what I have witnessed, you have grown up to become a strong, wise person. However, I am sure there is still something that you know now that you wish you had known when you were younger?

Elizabeth: I probably tell myself this five times a day, but I wish I would stop stressing about the small things! The amount of pressure I felt in high school was unreasonable, and every ounce of it came from myself. My mom could tell you more embarrassing concrete examples, but the things I worried about were so miniscule I’m surprised I didn’t need a magnifying glass to see them. At the time, all of it seemed so monumental, but I’ve gotten worlds better at prioritizing, at taking a step back, and gaining perspective on the situation, and I am a much more relaxed person because of it!

Question 5:

You are pretty involved on campus in different ways, can you generally describe some of your involvements and then write about one particular moment that you are particularly proud/happy about within these involvements.

Elizabeth: I am a sister of Delta Phi Epsilon sorority, and I serve as our Vice President of Membership Development. I sought out Greek Life for the reason of wanting a strong group of women to help support me and inspire me to dream bigger, and that is exactly what I’ve found in my sisterhood. One particular moment that stands out to me from this involvement was meeting an alumna who now is mentoring me as I prepare for law school. Not only is she a sister, but she is also an alumna of the Blue and Gold Society, of which I am also a member! Learning from and interacting with such an inspirational leader and woman, and knowing that we share this bond of sisterhood, is both humbling and motivational.

As mentioned above, I am a member of the Blue and Gold Society, where I serve as the Vice President of Internal Affairs. The Blue and Gold Society serves as student ambassadors and liaisons between alumni and the University of Pittsburgh. Through the organization, we have the opportunity to interact with a lot of amazing past and present Pitt people (yikes, alliteration!), and one of my favorite moments happened when we were hosting a luncheon for alumni that had graduated from the University over fifty years ago. The event was in the William Pitt Union, which used to be the Schenley Hotel. One of the couples attending the event told me that they remember the building from its hotel days, and even attended their prom together there. Hearing such stories and sharing memories with alumni remind me why I am so lucky to attend Pitt.

I serve as a PantherWELL Peer Health Educator through Student Health Services. I absolutely love this job because we have the opportunity to interact with so many different student groups and organizations, and share information about health topics around which there are many misconceptions. My favorite moments in this role happen when we present programs in residence halls and are able to answer a question or provide clarification for a person in attendance. These moments show how important outreach and public health efforts are, and how important it is that the University continues to provide content and support to its students.

Question 6:

Thanks for being one of my roles models. Who is one of your role models who has inspired you?

Elizabeth:If you’ve ever looked at my Facebook or my Instagram, you know how obsessed I am with my mom. She is absolutely my number one role model because not only did she raise three children, but she also succeeded as a physical therapist during a time when men still heavily populated the field. She and my father worked tirelessly so that my brothers and I were able to pursue any interest we chose, and I can never truly express how grateful I am for that. Also, she is the best baker I know and I aspire to have her prowess in the kitchen.

bottom of page